Hello, HelloGiggles…

So, I think I’ve mentioned my love for the blog HelloGiggles on here before.  It’s the popular blog for girls founded by Zooey Deschanel, Sophia Rossi, and Molly McAleer.  The idea behind it is to empower young women and be a place to rant and rave about beauty, friendship, relationships, pop culture, pets, television, movies, fandom, etc.

Long story short, they’re really great about giving other writer’s a chance to contribute, and I thought about submitting something on more than a few occasions.  I’ve heard it’s a tough gig to get, but I knew I had to try.  This blog couldn’t have been a more appropriate place for me to get involved; there were other nostalgic posts about the old teen series Sweet Valley High (which I love by the way), Judy Blume (who I also love) is a contributor, and I could go on and on about all the reasons I wanted to be a part of it.

Then, I wrote an essay for a creative writing class I’m taking, and I knew it was the perfect post to submit.  It was one of those pieces that was written in about fifteen minutes, and one that I didn’t have to think too much about it. 

I felt like I had nothing to lose so I went ahead and sent it in.  By the next morning there was a response in my email.  I thought it was going to be an automated response, like, “Thank you so much for submitting and blah, blah, blah,” but it wasn’t!  They were asking me for pictures to go with the post because they wanted to use it!

So, I’m pleased to announce you can see my featured writing on HelloGiggles.  Can you tell I’m super thrilled about it?  Because I am!  Check it out at:

http://hellogiggles.com/my-grandmothers-lipstick.

~The End.

14 thoughts on “Hello, HelloGiggles…

  1. That’s so awesome! I didn’t know that you could do that! Well done 🙂
    HelloGiggles inspires me half the time with ideas for my own blog.
    Love it!

  2. I am writing a story about people who have visited Montauk, NY because they love Eternal Sunshine. I saw your photos from Montauk on here. If you would be willing to chat about it, please email me at: oliver@danspapers.com. I also posted on the photos, but thought you’d be more likely to see comment on newer post. Thanks

  3. Cheers for getting published on your favorite blog 🙂 I loved that article. I am guy who can totally relate to that story and the color lipstick. Watching my mom and her identical twin sister wearing lipstick and getting it on my face growing up. Funny

Leave a Reply

