How Much is That Doggy in the Window?

This past weekend Matt and I made a trip out to Pennsylvania to visit a Shiba Inu dog breeder.  In Brooklyn there are tons of Shiba Inu’s walking around, and each time I see one, I squeal with delight at their cuteness.  They look like little foxes with their fluffy, flouncy hair.  Maybe my affinity for the breed dates back to one of my favorite middle grade books, Fantastic Mr. Fox by Roald Dahl, or maybe it’s simply because these pups are just so darn adorable!  Either way, all I know is that when I walked into the breeder’s home and four or five Shiba’s greeted me, I fell head over heels in love!

See what I mean?

See what I mean?  Cuuuuuuuuuuuute!

Now don’t get too excited, Matt and I aren’t the proud owners of one of these pups yet.  The breeders are very serious about their dogs and they won’t sell them to just anybody.  There is an interview process before you can take one of these guys home.  We’re keeping our fingers and toes crossed that we are chosen, and in the meantime, we’ll be mulling over puppy names.

How about you?  Do you have a dog?  If so, what’s the breed and what’s his/her name?

~The End

 

11 thoughts on “How Much is That Doggy in the Window?

  1. Ahhh, so adorable! I have a Shepherd Chow mix but people often think she’s part Shiba Inu (she’s a rescue, so until I decide to DNA test her, she’s a mystery :P). Her name is Leila.
    I hope you are the chosen ones! I think you’d be great puppy parents.

  2. I have a basset hound named Tracker cause he honestly doesn’t take his nose off the ground ever!

    Shibu’s are so cute! I hope you get one 🙂

  3. Awww, that baby is so cute!! I hope you get one.
    I have a cat that prefers dogs to other cats and thinks he is a dog himslef sometimes. His name is Scout. So I have a dog-cat!!

  4. Awww….what a cutie! My DH and I have raised 3 dogs now. The first was a bassett/border collie mix that was the calmest best dog ever. He lived until he was nearly 14. We had adopted a very cute Jack Russell Terrier puppy that was just over a year old when Mack passed away. Last summer, my daughter begged us to adopt a rescue puppy from Appalachia where she went on a service project with her high school….Bentley is a shepherd/beagle mix….the JRT and shepherd get along great. The JRT is my “furry child” at this point. My two human babies are 13 and 15 now and don’t snuggle quite like they used to! 🙂

  5. Such beautiful dogs and what cute balls of fluff the puppies are, so glad that you’ve found a reputable breeder and that they take the selling of their puppies seriously. As you can probably guess, I’m an obsessed dog mother to two black dogs, one a dalmatian cross called Maxi and the other is a staffordshire bull terrier called Bundy. Good luck with getting your puppy and becoming a dog mum 🙂

  6. They are so cute!!! I really hope you get one, dogs are the best part of live!! I have a mini poodle named pérola (it means pearl in Portuguese). I just could not get a so fluffy dog, due to the weather here in Brazil.

  7. Aww cute! Good luck!

    We’ve got three pups.
    A big black mix rescue named Beaux.
    A miniature schnauzer named Sebastian.
    And we recently adopted an older westie named Mozart.

Leave a Reply

