This Is Thirty.

A few months ago I asked Matt what he wanted for his 30th birthday and he promptly answered, “I want to go to Hawaii.”  I said, “You and me both, but that’s not gonna happen.”  We don’t have the time nor money to take another trip to Hawaii, so I decided to do the next best thing.  Bring Hawaii to Matt in the form of a surprise luau birthday party for this epic 30th occasion.

It all went down two Sunday’s ago at Matt’s parents house in Long Island.  It took place poolside where delicious Hawaiian grub was served, and the most amazing, authentic Hawaiian singer played renditions of Bob Marley, Jack Johnson, “IZ” Kaʻanoʻi Kamakawiwoʻole, Elvis, and an array of other Hawaiian tunes.

About three years ago when Matt and I got engaged, he had the ukulele version of the song “Somewhere Over the Rainbow” playing while he proposed.  He told me then that he wanted that song to play at every milestone in his life, so we also danced to it at our wedding, too.  He probably forgot that he told me that, but I didn’t.  The day of his party, I arranged for the singer to be playing “Somewhere Over the Rainbow” live when he walked into the surprise.

When we arrived at his parents house for the shindig, we could hear “Somewhere Over the Rainbow” faintly playing in the background.  Matt asked, “Do you hear music coming from somewhere?”  I said, “Yeah, I do, but I can’t hear what.”  I had to laugh, because it took him a while to actually hear what song it was.  As I led him to the backyard, where everyone was waiting, he was shocked to see all of his closest friends and family there to celebrate his birthday.

Matt may not have gotten to go all the way to Hawaii, but I’m pretty sure he was transported.  The next day and after it was all over, he declared, “I miss my party.  I wish I could do it all over again!”  <–Success!

The big reveal.

Mr. Palma

The twinsies.

The Palma’s.

The festive cake.

Sorry to all you Veggies out there.

Tiki torch

Poolside

Matt’s buddy, Brendan.

The wedding, I mean, birthday singer.

We’re silly.

Oh and Matt?  You might be 30, but don’t worry, you’ll always be my teenage dream.

~The End.

30 thoughts on “This Is Thirty.

  1. What a great surprise, Sarah! As a guy/husband, I know it’s when the little things I say are remembered that it means the most to me. He’ll treasure that long after the pictures fade. You’re a keeper!

  2. I love Hawaii too! The music, the palm trees, the people, the weather, it is perfect to me in everyway!! It looked like you recreated the atmosphere and mood of Hawaii and Matt’s birthday was a great success!! Loved this blog!! : )

  3. Seriously the cutest thing I’ve ever seen. Couples like you guys make me believe that true love does exist after all. 🙂

  4. Love it! I’m slightly jealous that your dh doesn’t mind surprise parties. I wanted to have a party when mine turned 30 and he nearly had a temper tantrum. He does not like being the center of attention at all! I’m the opposite! I threw myself a rainbow and unicorns party in Sept for MY 30th!! I love planning and having parties!

  5. WOW! You are an awesome wifey! Looks like a fun party. And, so hard to believe you were having a pool party only two weeks ago when it is such an ugly day in the city today!

      • I just turned 32 and all I have been thinking about since I turned 30 is, wow I am in my 30’s The Dirty 30’s. Haha. It’s not feeling nearly as great as I imagined. Kids around me born in the 1990 in there early 20’s. I refuse to say I’m old, lol Life is but a dream 🙂

  6. This post already 6 months old, but I’m glad I found this posts when I scrolling down your old posts. I love every time you post something that involved Matt. It means that there will be some romantic post rolling out. And I think you’re the best when it comes to capture the romantic moments in a not so romantic and glorious way so others can still relate. You’re a very nice couple. Cheers to both of you. 😀

Leave a Reply

