Words With Trends.

***WARNING*** 

This post is a rant.

I have a confession.  Sometimes I get really, really annoyed with my generation.  I don’t mean to be a traitor or anything, but I can’t help myself.  In my daily life, as well as the internet on sites like Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest, I see the same trendy fads and phrases popping up nearly everywhere.  It’s like one day they’re not there, and then POOF, they’re EVERYWHERE.

So, I have to get this off of my chest…

I bring you…

My Top 5 Most Loathed Words With Trends:

1. Swag

As in, “He’s got killer swag.”

Oh, “swag”, I loathe you most of all.

Swag, swag, swag…Before ‘swag’ I never knew that I was capable of loathing a word so much.  I don’t know what it means, and to be honest with you, I really don’t care.  All that I really know is that I cringe every time someone uses it in reference to a virtue, and if I never heard the word muttered from any other human beings lips for the rest of my life, I would be a very happy girl.

2. Fingerstaches

Can we stop this? Please?

Can we talk about fingerstaches for a second?  I’d honestly like to know why, when, and where this mustache fetish started?  Not only is the term for this horrendous trend ridiculous, but I find the whole “let me hold up my finger with a fake mustache drawn on it” really sort of dumb.  I have actually seen people with a tattoo of this absurd fad, and I can’t help but think, “C’mon, seriously?!”  I mean, I get it, it was funny for about two seconds…wait, no it wasn’t.  It was never funny.  Ever.  So, can we all resolve to stop this mayhem?

3. Awesome Sauce

As in, “Dinner was totally awesome sauce!”

I’m cringing just reading this.

Oh…’awesome sauce,’ I really don’t like you.  This is one that didn’t bother me much in the beginning, but then I started hearing it, and then I started hearing it some more, and then I started hearing it so much, in reference to so many people, places, and things, that it made me want to rip my hair out.  Why can’t something just simply be awesome?  Try it.  It feels good to say something is just plain awesome.  It’s sincere.  It’s effective.  If I had the choice, I’d never hear ‘awesome sauce’ again, unless of course, it was in reference to a sauce that was actually awesome, like Frank’s RedHot, then it would be entirely acceptable.

4. Adorkable

As in, “She’s so super adorkable.”

The gal who inspired the craze.

I admire Zooey Deschanel.  She’s quirky, whimsical, and she’s also really, really smart.  She has marketed herself as the cute-dress wearing, 60’s inspired, unique actress who stars in the coolest independent films.  Plus, she has really great bangs, but that’s not the point.  The fact is, there is no other actress out there like her, and she did a great job at setting herself apart.  Genius.  You want to know what’s not genius?  The dumb stigma that someone labeled her with- “Adorkable.”  Yes, she is adorable, and she might even be a bit of a dork in her free time, but can we just call her what she really is?  A very smart business woman.

5. (Insert adjective and select a gender here) problems.

As in, “Being too short to see out of the peephole of your front door = Short girl problems.” (By the way, that happened to me.)

I blame you, Jersey Shore.

So, it all started with Jersey Shore, as most annoying sayings do.  Pauly D referred to Snookie and Co. as having “meatball problems” when bad fortune started to come their way.  That was it.  A mania was born.  Suddenly you couldn’t go on Facebook without someone lamenting about their, “short girl problems,” or “tall guy problems,” or “nerd girl problems,” and so on and so forth.  Everyone wanted in on the action, and it became, well, exhausting.  So, I have to ask, can we just keep all of our whatever guy/girl problems to ourselves?  Please?

~The End.

Pictures by Ghettoredhot, Pinterest, shortgirlprbs.tumblr.com

17 thoughts on “Words With Trends.

  1. The adorkable sounds like an unfunny joke running again and again and nobody stop. Nevertheless…adorable sound to me too much (like awesome sause) when it comes to describe a girl after the age of 5….

  2. OMG, totally agree with you on the first two!!! Although I usually hear “swagger” and I am not sure what that is. I think swag means nice stuff. And mustaches????? I HATE mustaches!! They are not attractive (unless you are Tom Selleck in the 80s).

    As for the last 3 — never heard of them!!! Well, the problem one I have seen some stuff on pinterest, but never heard it in any Facebook statuses or anything. It does sound stupid. But I have never heard the phrase “adorkable” or “awesome sauce”. “Awesome Blossom”, yes. Because i sometimes say that to myself.

  3. So whenever I think of swag, I think of the stupid, random, free crap they hand out at concerts or street fairs. That usage of the word, I just learned this year, derives from the marketing world: Stuff We All Get. Though obviously the actual word swag has other meanings and I guess I haven’t heard it overused in the “swagger” sense, but I see where you’re going with that. (I will maintain a grudging respect for the word swag just because of its acronym, though in true acronym words, snafu (from the Navy, Situation Normal All F*cked Up) remains my favorite or maybe fubar (again, Navy: F*cked Up Beyond All Repair; harder to use in everyday speak)– see, you can curse SECRETLY. What can I say? #nerdgirlproblems. (HAHAHA. Kidding.)

    Adorkable I don’t tend to mind so much in reference to guys, such as Ben on Parks & Recreation. It’s not as overused in that sense, but it drives me NUTS in the Zooey D. sense. Only because when used for girls it tends to be used to define their whole personality (admittedly, Zooey/her PR people took fullest advantage of this) and the traits it encompasses are all the same rather than it being a cute way to summarize a nerdy personality. (Does that make sense??? Like adorkable girls wear twee dresses and plastic glasses and tights; they listen to records and dance in that obnoxious 60s style; they put birds on things. Adorkable boys can be hipsters, computer nerds, Star Wars fanboys, music dorks, gamers, or just plain insanely smart or some combination thereof and still be called adorkable because they have these outside mainstream interests and are sweet and cute.)

    I completely fail to understand the mustache thing.

    Sorry this was a million words long. Just had to say. Great job! Love ya!

  4. Can we also talk about “YOLO”? Technically, its not slang, but an acronym…but still. I get it…you only live once…a great motto to live by, but when, where and how did it become the new tagline of our youth? I hear it is because Drake endorsed it in a song, and Zac Effron, among other young artists have tattooed it on themselves someplace. But haven’t the Newsies already taught us to seize the day, and didn’t Rent tell us there’s no day but today…decades ago? YOLO is definitely an acronym I love to hate.

  5. Rants are fun, and yours was highly entertaining!!! The newest “things” that I hate are all of those memes with a crown that say “Carry On”….I think it started in England? At any rate….it annoys me.

  6. I’m so glad I’m not alone in thinking these things!

    Mustaches in general really bug me. I typically call them creepstaches. I’m not sure why it’s trendy to do anything mustache related. Also, I’ve noticed an influx of using bunting/banners to “cute-ify” things. Gag.

    And if anyone ever calls me “adorkable” they’re going to have some “stupid girl problems.” 😉

  7. Nothing wrong with a good rant, I have them often 🙂

    Have not yet heard these words or phrases, but I am a bit beyond that generation and nobody I know watches Jersey Shore. A swag in Australia is usually a kit consisting of a sleeping bag and other necessities rolled up together to take camping: http://www.theswagstore.com.au/ so I’m a little confused about its use as you’ve shown it.

  8. Totally with you on the mustaches. I know you were speaking specifically about the finger staches, but from day one I have not understood what was so cool/cute/fun/trendy about moustaches.

  9. Reblogged this on Stephanie-isms and commented:
    Although I have a special affinity for the word “adorkable,” I can appreciate this post. The reason that I’m reblogging it, though, is purely because of Katerina’s comment:
    “Can we also talk about “YOLO”? Technically, its not slang, but an acronym…but still. I get it…you only live once…a great motto to live by, but when, where and how did it become the new tagline of our youth? I hear it is because Drake endorsed it in a song, and Zac Effron, among other young artists have tattooed it on themselves someplace. But haven’t the Newsies already taught us to seize the day, and didn’t Rent tell us there’s no day but today…decades ago? YOLO is definitely an acronym I love to hate.”
    Thank you, Katerina. Thank you. You’re awesome (not “awesome sauce”).

Leave a Reply

