Dear Younger Me…

Trust me.

Often times getting what you want begins with one simple task:  Being nice.

“Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.” -Dr. Seuss

Expect the unexpected.

Once you give your heart away, it’s hard to get it back, so choose the recipients wisely and carefully.

Refrain from using the words “always” and “never.”  Both are cripplingly absolute.

Better to be the person who keeps the peace than stirs the pot.

It’s important to have people in your life who believe in you, but even more vital to believe in yourself.

Let go of expectations of people, places, and things.  Why not let yourself be pleasantly surprised, than anticipating more, only to be let down?

Be someone who people can depend on, instead of someone who people say, “Oh, Sarah?  Yeah, she always bails on me.  You can’t count on her.” <–It sucks to be that person.

You. Must. Chill.

It’s okay to be a dreamer, but know that nothing happens overnight.  For 99.9% of people, anything worth achieving doesn’t come easily.  Don’t get caught up in the hyped up stories about the .1%.  Put the work in.

“Why fit in when you were born to stand out?” -Dr. Seuss (again)

Being a quitter gets a bad reputation, but sometimes your mental health is more important than putting yourself through something that makes you miserable.

Kick out “life drainers.”  Drainers are people who purposely try to bring you down, don’t have your best interest at heart, aren’t happy for you when good things happen, and are people who do their best to dull your sparkle.  Say goodbye to them and see how much better you feel afterward.

Don’t be afraid to look stupid.

Be honest…but not brutally honest.  I would say, be tactfully honest.  Sometimes being brutally honest just hurts people’s feelings.

(This one is for the girls)  If a guy says he doesn’t want to be in a relationship with you for whatever reason; believe him, and then find someone who does.

Save your money.

“Sometimes the questions are complicated and the answers are simple.” -Dr. Seuss (yes, one more time.)

Follow your heart, but don’t be stupid.

~The End.

Photo by Pinterest.

45 thoughts on “Dear Younger Me…

  1. Lovely post! As I approach my (faint!) 52nd birthday, I marvel at all the amazing twists and turns that this journey has taken so far! Yes, there are many things that I certainly wish that I had “understood” and/or appreciated when I was younger (and Dr. Seuss’ wisdom was definitely one of my first exposures to “philosophy/spiritual wisdom”–even before I had heard of such a thing)….and yet, the older I get, perhaps I get more intrigued at the thought that perhaps the beauty of “it all” is that we never do totally “figure it out”. There is always a reason to wake up the next morning….always new thoughts to think and new ideas to ponder. There are things that annoy us (which then inspire us to quest farther) and things that we love (which inspire us to create more of!). Yes, as I climb my mountains and race down the rapids, I hold one of my favorite Dr. Seuss quotes close to my heart, “OH, the places you will go…..!” Super wonderful blog! Thank you!

  2. I really loved this post–it was just what I needed to read tonight. Thanks for always having really thoughtful, honest posts. I really appreciate them!

  3. Great blog. I found the 99.9% of people need to work hard to achieve. I’d up that to 100% – check out Malcolm Gladwell’s book Outliers if you don’t believe me. Even the superstars have to work. No one gets anywhere on their own.

  4. I couldn’t agree more! One phrase that has stayed with me for over 20 years is ‘youth is wasted on the young’ and it resonates strongly with me now that my youth is well and truly in my past 🙂

  5. Very true Sarah! 🙂

    Doctor Seuss was a favourite of mine when I was teaching my God daughter and her sisters to read…

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  6. Just followed your blog recently. 🙂 I must say that this post is very inspiring to me especially now that i’m trying to figure out what to do with my life. It kinda reminded me to stop panicking and JUST CHILL. 🙂

  7. “Refrain from using the words “always” and “never.” Both are cripplingly absolute.” I feel so young and naive D: These are beautiful!

  8. I loved this. I’ve been having a rough few days (just graduated from college, moved across the country to live with my parents again, have been applying to countless jobs hoping for something to come through, and left a boy who was really bad for me) so I think I really needed to read this!

    • I am so happy to hear that this resonated with you, and I can so identify with your place in life right now. Everything has a funny way of working itself out.

  9. This is the second or 3th time I read this post, now I enter to see something specific (never say never or always…I forgot the second) maybe I will this post on my destop…the issue is that you here and there…to remeber the whole banch … this is the issue. Thank you (again) Sarah.

Leave a Reply

