Don’t Mess With Texas…

Well, tomorrow Matt and I are off to Houston, Texas for about 6 weeks, where Matt will attend a Kaplan retreat, to prepare for his big medical school exam in March.

I'll be sure to let you know if this is true...

We had an extremely busy holiday season, and it’s hard to believe it’s already time to jet off to the Lone Star State.  To be honest, I feel a little guilty…This will be the third consecutive New York winter that I’ve managed to avoid.  Since we’ve been back in the States, it hasn’t even been that cold, but already I’ve noticed myself daydreaming about the spring and summer in a few months.  I am looking forward to enjoying some sunshine again, and also just seeing Texas in general.

When I traveled in the national tour of Les Miz, we went to Houston, and also Fort Worth, San Antonio, and Dallas.  Because I was so young, though, I really don’t remember much about it, other than the fact that it was extremely clean there, and sweltering hot.  I’m interested to see if it’s how I remembered it.

I have a feeling we are going to enjoy our time in Texas, and for some reason, all week I have hummed tunes from the play Oklahoma (I played Ado Annie in a high school production of Oklahoma.)  Okay, so they’re obviously two different states, but they’re both country, so it felt fitting.

Have a listen and see if you agree..(P.S. This song has a special meaning to me, because a high school friend of mine who played Curly in Oklahoma passed away a few years ago, and this song always reminds me of him.)

02_-_oh_what_a_beautiful_morning_-_oklahoma_(original_soundtrack)

I have every intention on getting a pair of these during my stay…

You can't go to TX and not wear cowboy boots...

I’m also really looking forward to embracing the country culture, and possibly eating some cheesy grits and fried chicken…

Not exactly healthy, but definitely worth the calories...

I may even try out a southern drawl and bust out a “y’all” or “bless your heart” here or there…

Here’s another one…lollygagging…that’s southern, right?  Either way, I better quit lollygagging and get to this packing, because the truth is, I haven’t even started yet!

So, off I go.

Stay tuned for more Sarah Smiles Awhile…Southern style.

~See ya.

19 thoughts on “Don’t Mess With Texas…

  1. Tell the Big guy I said good luck – I hope all his hard work pans out and he finds pure Gold! 🙂

    Hope you have a fun time in Texas hun!!! 🙂

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  2. Okay, so now you guys HAVE to watch Friday Night Lights! Prior to watching it, I had very few positive thoughts about Texas but now I sort of want to live there. (Because Tami Taylor is now officially my idol and you, like me, will be obsessed with her for her awesomeness and incredible hair.)

    Well, now that you’re in the country still you must call!!

    • I know! I was just telling Matt that last night! I really am going to get into it, because I will have quite a bit of time on my hands until classes start. Oh, and I will be calling and skyping. Thank God for the U.S. of A.!

    • That’s awesome! I have to admit, I am not much of a football fan (Cotton Bowl is football, right?) but that still is super cool!

  3. Are you going to Texas or Tennessee?! I dated a guy once, from Houston, he was not country in the least. My best friend also lives in El Paso, and it snowed there just the other day. I know Houston is more coastal so not sure if its hot or cold there… Texas is so big! I guess because I live in the epitome of the south I never think of Texas as being southern. You’ll have to let us know how southern it is. Then again, Reba (the show) was supposed to be based out of Texas and they were all pretty country. What’s up with the Oklahoma/Texas theme going on here?! good luck and have fun! And post lots of photos!

    • We are going to Texas! That’s funny, because I once dated a guy from TX and he was super country…go figure! Oh, and I have NO idea was this Oklahoma theme is all about, but it’s still going…

  4. Ooh, where did you find that TX print? I may need it. When you’re there, you should go to the Red Lion Pub for burgers. They are amazing, and I miss them.

  5. I actually just moved to Dallas,Texas from the D.C. area and at first I thought I was going to dislike it, but I absolutely LOVE it. If you get a chance, go to downtown Ft Worth and see the ginormous Longhorns. Dallas has a pretty cool night life too. If you get a chance, go to the Icehouse!! Have fun!

  6. Hey Sarah!
    I have only just set up my own WordPress, and after setting up, one of the random articles on the homepage was yours, which I happened to click on. I really liked what I read, and you seemed to have really pegged the light-hearted, witty and funny style with your posts! Therefore, this is my first comment on another person’s page, so here goes!
    As an English student, travelling is very dear to me. A couple of summers ago I was lucky enough to spend a few weeks in Houston, TX. as well. It was fantastic! Southern hospitality is warm and welcoming, and it is an exciting place to visit. I’m an American studies student, so I was in my element when visiting such historic sites as the Alamo, right the way through to the Modern Art gallery in Houston itself. The National Parks are stunning, and the whole free camping pitch thing boggled my mind (we have no equivalent this side of the pond). Whilst the Texan pride can verge on the aggressive, in my experiences, Texans were a passionate people, and I don’t think that this is at fault particularly.
    However, and this was such a classic British-tourist-putting-his-foot-in-it thing to do, I will NEVER EVER again be calling a Texan a Yank… Back home we call Americans Yanks affectionately, it’s like calling someone “mate” or “dude” or whatever. It does not go down well, apparently.
    Anyway, I hope you have a good time!
    Best wishes,
    Wandering Canary

Leave a Reply

