The Best Advice I’ve NEVER Received, But Wish I Had…

Are you ready?

Get over it.

So, I thought I’d do a sequel to the post I did a little while back called, “The Best Advice I’ve Ever Received, and tell you a little about a lesson I wish I had learned a lot earlier.

Before we begin, I’d like to get a disclaimer out there right off the bat.  The goal of this post is not to be insensitive to any people seriously suffering from any clinical disorder, or dealing with obvious life situations that this sentiment would be considered unsympathetic to.  However, this post is a reflection of my own meandering thoughts on the topic, and nothing more.

With that…

Let’s talk about get over it for a minute.  It sounds a little like tough love, doesn’t it?  Well, that’s because it is tough love, and tough love ain’t easy.  Sometimes it’s difficult dole out that kind of advice, because you don’t want to hurt someones feelings.  On the receiving end it’s not any easier to hear it, because you might feel that your feelings are being dismissed, or like you’re not being understood.  Overall, it’s tricky ground to tread either way.

For me, I think that if someone would have told me to get over it in different situations throughout my life, I would have been devastated at first, but I do believe it might have been the best thing for me to hear in the long run.  The reason being, that sometimes when you’re in the midst of a situation it’s hard to see the light at the end of the tunnel, and it’s also very easy to get stuck in the tunnel for years and years not being able to see your way out.

Now, I’m not saying that if someone says get over it that it will act as a magical snap of the fingers to fix all of your problems.  No no no no no.  That’s not what I’m saying at all.  What I am saying is that sometimes you need to hear the truth, not be coddled, or have advice sugar-coated, to finally have the tools to begin the journey to find that light.  You feel me?  It’s not an easy quest, though, and I sympathize with anyone beginning it.

Just to give you a specific example of an experience I’ve had (P.S. I absolutely hate talking about this), was when I went through a bad break-up that lasted entirely to long. I spent years (I’m not kidding) exhausting my friends talking about it, probably draining my mother harping on it, and basically letting it get in the way of almost every aspect of my life.  It was totally ridiculous. To be honest, I wish someone had given me a swift kick in the arse, and told me to get the hell over it.

I’ve had other experiences as well that would have qualified me to hear get over it, and I’ve also been in situations where I’ve wanted to tell someone else to get over it.  Although I don’t think that I ever actually have.

The moral of this story is that sometimes it’s good to hear what you don’t want to hear.  It’s not fun, and it doesn’t make you feel all warm and fuzzy inside either, but that’s not the point.  The point is, sometimes you need someone else to point out to you what you might not be able to see yourself.

~The End

8 thoughts on “The Best Advice I’ve NEVER Received, But Wish I Had…

  1. Sounds about right! 🙂

    Doug bitches and whines, threatens and tries to intimidate, but basically he’s an alcoholic and sometimes drug user who needs to get his crap together and stop blaming his problems on everyone else!

    I tried talking to him on the subject only for him to start listing everyone he’s going to get a gun and kill – he WILL NOT take responsibility for his own actions.

    All I can do is wait for his world to implode and look forward to a new neighbour – preferably female and my own age instead of a teenage drunk and his illiterate gangster family with attached thieving g/f and her thieving family!

    The youth these days is sooo depressingly predictable…

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

      • Yep! 🙂

        He’s stopped drinking again and is looking at getting on an electricians course – he used to do the job and just needs a refresher and certification – and he’s sleeping much better although he’s smoking like a chimney.

        He’s so much more together when he doesn’t drink…

        Love and hugs!

        Prenin.

  2. I wish someone would have told me to get over my family issues with my annoying sisters. Wait… someone did, and I FINALLY did get over it!!

  3. Build a bridge. It is what I say at home now that I’m banned from saying ‘Get over it’ because overuse killed the impact, the phrase being an extremely common one among family, friends and colleagues for a while.

Leave a Reply

