To Run Or Not To Run, That Is The Question?!

When I don’t have any new music to work-out to, I inevitably become unmotivated.  It happens to me all the time.  When there isn’t anything new pumping me up, I end up just watching the little timer on whatever machine I’m on, tick-tock-tick-tocking away, until IT’S FINALLY OVER!  There is no greater moment, than when I’m done.  It’s not that I don’t enjoy exercise, I really do, but I’m one of those people who needs to be distracted while doing so, or else I become resentful of the whole idea to begin with.  However, when I have new and exciting music to inspire me, I can work out for hours without even thinking about.

Lately I’ve tried EVERYTHING in seek of new things to preoccupy myself with while exercising, but I’ve come up totally empty.  I’ve solicited music recommendations on Facebook, and I’ve even tried listening to audio books on my iPod, which began a whirlwind love affair for a minute, until one day I was so over audio books that I never want to hear one ever again.

Today, I decided to do something different with my work-out regime, and attempted to go for a run outside, instead of my usual elliptical routine mixed with weight training.  I’ve been feeling cooped up inside lately, and I thought that maybe it might be nice to not listen to any music and to just enjoy the beautiful sites of Grenada.  I don’t run very much at all anymore, with the exception of the 5K I did on September 11th, but it’s something I used to do all the time.  As I was lacing up my sneakers, I couldn’t remember why I hadn’t been running in so long?

I went outside and began what was supposed to be a lovely little nature run, and I got about twenty minutes in, and I remembered why I had taken a hiatus from running.

Because (pardon my french) running sucks.

At least in my opinion, it does.

Ugh.  I hadn’t been running, because I freaking hate running!  How did I fail not to remember that?

Here’s the kicker about running…

Ummm...So I kind of hate the term "FML" but this deserves a big ol' FML.

Just like this picture says, by the time you realize you’re not in shape for it, you’re past the point of no return.  That’s exactly what happened to me.  I was jogging along, until I realized I was totally and utterly over it.  Now if I’m honest, I probably realized I was over it about .5 seconds into it, but I was in denial.  I tried to use reverse psychology on myself, and when my mind started gearing toward the negative thought of, “This kinda blows,” I tried to tell myself it was so wonderful to running outside with all these lovely sites to see, and I even tried to think happier thoughts like,”Hooray, what a marvelous run this is!”  However, it was not working.  Not one bit.  I was over it, and I knew it.

Now I’m not sure if it was the uneven ground that I almost broke my back on, or if it was the strange man across the street carrying a machete (Btdubs, don’t be alarmed at this at all.  I swear it’s totally normal for people to carry around machetes here) but something made this experience hit a sour note.  Maybe it was just simply the fact that I was sweating profusely and tired as hell?  Yeah, that was probably it.  Either way, all in one moment, I was done.

So, now what?

I almost hailed a reggae bus (which is basically equivalent to a cab around here), but I realized I had no money, hence the work-out clothes.  Ugh.

I had no other choice but to walk the whole way back (which now in retrospect wasn’t all that far), but at the time, I was not in the mood.  The whole way home I cursed running, and vowed to never ever embark upon such a wretched journey ever again.

So there.

Oh yeah, and me and running?  Well, today we broke up.  Forever.

~The End

Photo by someecards.com

24 thoughts on “To Run Or Not To Run, That Is The Question?!

  1. I hate running too! I ran x-country all through high school and hated it the whole time. 2 years ago I invested in a spinning bike and some really good headphones. Now, I get up at 5am and ride my spinning bike for an hour or two while watching my favorite shows. Nothing like an episode of America’s Next Top Model to keep me motivated to stay in shape (and not be a jerk to those around me).

    • Hmmm…I have considered spinning, maybe I will try it! By the way, I am totally impressed by your two hour work out sessions. Holy cow.

  2. I DO NOT Run unless I am being chased by a maniac trying to kill me – no thank you – running is not my fortay and it plain SUCKS:( The short legs and my slightly larger hips really slow me down for sure! I CAN & WILL make every excuse to NEVER run! Loving the post:)

    • Omg, I love that. Great analogy on the only running if you’re running for your life! I’m going to have to remember that!

  3. I am totally with you on needing to be distracted to exercise, ESPECIALLY when it comes to running. We don’t have cable/satellite at home, so I use the run as my chance to watch some TV. I want to be an outside runner, but I find it just takes foooreeeeever and I hate it – which is so bizarre to me since I’m usually such a nature-lover that I thought I’d enjoy the solitude. Is it embarrassing I need TV to run? I’m not a real “runner” anyway.

    • You know, though, the way I look at it is, even if we need entertainment for a distraction while working out, at least we’re doing it at all!

  4. I hated running. But then I hated my flatmates more. And I couldn’t afford a gym pass. Running burned up the rage (even the running rage). And then I was hooked.

  5. Hi Sarah! 🙂

    Yes, I too used to run everywhere, but bad joints and poor diet led to me being unable to burn calories so I rapidly put on weight and now I’m dieting in an effort to slim down…

    Enjoy your health while you can sweetheart – you’ll miss it when it’s gone.

    Love and squishy hugs!

    Prenin.

  6. Love it! I was a runner and I rather enjoyed it, but it didn’t love me. It was more of a like relationship. I’ve always been athletic and find solace in working out. So I understand the need for variety.

    Music plays its role, literally. I say mix up your playlist with all types of music, and let spin what may.

    Merry exercising!

  7. I. Hate. Running.

    And it hates me back, so it’s all good.

    Now you’ll always have this post to remind you why you haven’t gone for a run in ages 😉

  8. It’s never easy- no matter how much you mix it up.. Sometimes I get someone to drop me off a few km from my house, and then run home from there… you have no choice but to keep going unless you want to perish on the street in a sweaty pool of self-loathing… haha

    • That’s actually brilliant…having someone drop you off, so that way you only have to run one way home then! See, now that’s an awesome idea, because my problem is that I am usually over it after 20 minutes, so that concept might work out beautifully for me if I should ever embark upon a run again (which I highly doubt I will!) Ha!

  9. Ugh, I hate running too. Whenever I decide I’m going to try to run I pay for it with leg aches and knee aches and ankle aches. Then I tried running on a treadmill, and while it’s boring, I don’t get the aches and pains I do running outdoors. I happily embrace my aches as a proper excuse to never run outdoors.

  10. Im in your same boat. But I joined Gold’s gym and they have the cinema room! its amazing haha I went there last night and Oceans 11 was on! FAV movie. the 30 min went by like nothin! I definitely recommend watching a movie while running on a treadmill:)

  11. Yep, ~~~RUNNING SUCKS~~~
    I ran through school, collegiate scholarship for Track ….everyone identified me with “running”. My last trackmeet in college was the last day I ever ran. I’m always asked: “are you still running?” Hell no I replied. I never did like it, i loved the competition and I was good at it. But it sucks.
    Yep, ~~~RUNNING SUCKS~~~

Leave a Reply

