WWDD (What Would Dolly Do?)…

Previously I have talked about Larry David being my fairy godfather, but one person whom I have only just touched upon in my blog, is also a detrimental and fictitious player in my crazy little world;  Dolly Parton.  I know, I know it’s hard to take her seriously sometimes with those big jugs, but Doll actually has some really profound things to say, and along with Lar, I like to think of Doll as my fairy godmother.  Whenever I’m in a bind I like to call upon the Doll-inator and ask WWDD<–Btdubs, no pun intended on the double D’s…Just sayin…

Didn't Doll use to be a total Betty? No offense Doll, you still totally are...

For some reason, I think Dolly is the bomb.  I think the coolest thing about her, is that she is true to who she is, and she is just real.  Okay, okay so obvi all of her is def not real, but when I say ‘real’ I’m not referring to her massive bajunga’s, I am talking about her heart, soul, character, and disposition.  Dolly has got spunk, and she doesn’t apologize for who she is.  She enjoys lots of make-up, gaudy clothes and jewelry, flaunting her attributes, and telling it like it is.  However, she is still an amazing musical artist, philanthropist, author, actress, and a wife of 45 years to the same man.  Nobody said that an inspirational woman had to fit into a certain mold, and I realize Doll is not your typical role model/fairy godmother, but she is mine, and I heart her always.

I have to admit, I am a little jeal that Miley Cyrus has got Doll for an actual fairy godmother.

Luckyyyyyyyy duck.

Here are some of my fave Dolly quotes:

“Find out who you are and do it on purpose.”

“If you don’t like the road you’re walking, start paving another one.”

“We cannot direct the wind, but we can adjust the sails.”

“My weaknesses have always been food and men – in that order.”

“You’ll never do a whole lot unless you’re brave enough to try.”

“It’s a good thing I was born a girl, otherwise I’d be a drag queen.”

“I never let a rhinestone go unturned”

And a classic Dolly quote:

“You’d be surprised how much it costs to look this cheap!”

And just a little somethin’ from Dolly the jokester:

“I wanted to be the first woman to burn her bra, but it would have taken the fire department four days to put it out.”

And I saved my favorite Dolly quote for last…

“The magic is inside you. There ain’t no crystal ball.”

…Spoken like a true fairy godmother…

~The End

20 thoughts on “WWDD (What Would Dolly Do?)…

  1. Though its sometimes difficult to see past the obvious – and in Dolly’s case it IS obvious – the genuinely superior human in the glitz and behind all that tissue is precisely as you described. Can you imagine how much potential for good exists if the rest of the slugs in Slimywood were half as generous as she is? Great post.
    Sandy

  2. OMG Were we separated at birth? Because I so love Dolly. And the whole post I was hoping you’d say one of my fave quotes of hers ” you’d be surprised how much it costs to look this cheap.” Love love love her. Isn’t she the best? And look at the career the woman has had! Totally an icon. Now I’m gonna have to dig out a Dolly album and watch Steel Magnolias.

    Btdubs, totally love me some Curb too. I wonder what Larry thinks of Dolly?

    • Really?! I had a feeling you loved her, too, for some reason!! Ha! Btdubs, I bet Lar would tell Doll she has some big jugs. He totally would, right??!!

      • Right!! I can only imagine them in the same room together. She’s so dry, and he’s so… Larry!

  3. I adore Dolly too!! Have you heard Kristin Chenoweth’s new song WWDD? Too cute. When I was a kid Dolly made a Christmas movie called Smoky Mountain Christmas – have you seen it? My sister and I were obsessed with it, we ran down the tape on our VHS. I found it on DVD on some random site a few years back and now I force my girls to watch it with me each year, but they’ve grown to love Dolly too since they are smart lil’ chickies. 🙂

  4. When I was little I was seriously obsessed with Dolly. I don’t know when that sort of died down but I do still love her!
    I saw Kristin Chenowith on Jay Leno and she was talking about her new song. The best part? She doesn’t call it “WWDD”, she calls it, “WWdoubleD” Haha, love it.
    One of my other favorite quotes of hers (paraphrasing here) is something like, “The first thing I do in the morning is put on my clothes and go home.” Hahaha. Love her!!!!

    • So, this is so funny, because I swear I totally thought I coined the whole WWDD! Then you and also someone else wrote to me about the Kristin Chenowith song! Its so bizarre, because the night I thought of it, I was, like, so proud of myself! Ha! Oh well!

  5. I’m so glad you wrote this post. I have a special place in my heart for Dolly Parton and when I say that people just look at me like I’m nuts. She is just so good and warm and genuine. I really admire her.

Leave a Reply

