The Fish was Delish…

So, the fresh fish from the market was delicious.  I decided to get all fancy pants up in this piece and do somethin’ crazy with it…Well, actually it was Matt who got the idea to cook the fish a new way other than the standard olive oil, garlic, with salt and pepper, and he let me know this when I got home from the gym on Saturday.  I walked in the door and he had a recipe already selected and printed out from the Food Network, and me, not being a fan of following directions/recipes thought to myself, “Dang it.”  I know, I know, isn’t it dumb that I hate following directions/recipes?  I really do think it’s a huge character flaw, but whatev.  I tell myself this issue is solely because I have a need to be creative without restriction, but maybe it has more to do with some kind of underlying issue with authority and/or being told what to do?  Wow, I didn’t mean to get all serious up in your biz…So, anyway…The mahi-mahi on Saturday night was phenom, and the snapper from tonight was double phenom…So hooray.

Mahi-Mahi ceviche style...Recipe courtesy of Alton Brown via The Food Network

Tomato, cucumber, and basil salad with olive oil and balsamic vinegar...Recipe courtesy of Mi Madre (aka my mom).

Red Snapper in Livernese sauce...Recipe courtesy of Giada (a wee bit too enthusiastic) De Laurentiis via The Food Network.

Speaking of Giada, does anyone ever notice how completely animated she is about EVERYTHING at ALL times on her show?!  Don’t be misled by this statement, I heart Giada as much as the next one, but I’m just sayin’ I find her a wee bit nutty (in a good way).  P.S.  I enjoy imitating her, especially while I’m cooking her recipes.  The only difference is that I don’t wear low-cut shirts that show off my bubbies while doing so.

So, the fish was a hit, I learned to be patient with recipes, and all is right with the world.

Hooray!

7 thoughts on “The Fish was Delish…

    • Haha, I don’t think I even own shirts as low cut as the ones Giada wears to show off her ta-ta’s. I swear, I think The Food Network got together and were like, “I have a great idea. Let’s get a chef in here that will wear reeeeeally low cut shirts, and bend over a pot of hot boiling sauce while she stirs it. That’ll get the viewers to watch!” Hahahaha

  1. Giada. Drives. Me. Crazy. I do like her, I do watch her, but eventually watching her makes me batty. I think the number one thing that sends me off the deep end with her is how she over pronounces her words. Like the way she says broos-ketta. She even adds like 3 more syllables in there. Broo-SKY-EH-TAH. Even if she’s right, there’s something about her saying it that isn’t.

    I am in love with both Ina Garten and Lidia Bastianich.

    Your fish looks awesome!

    • Omg, me too. I can only stand about 30 minutes of her and then I need a breather. On a side note, the other thing that gets to me about her is that she is always like, “Ooooohhh I love eating (insert something really fattening and high calorie here.)” My sister in law and I were talking about it, and we were like, there is no freaking way she eats like that! Look at her!

Leave a Reply

