Of Marriage and Men…

I am one of those people who believes that the more a girl wants to get married, the longer it takes for it to happen for her.  Don’t you agree?  Remember Charlotte?  No one wanted to get married more than Charlotte, and yet it took her forever to find someone to settle down with.  We’ll call Charlotte’s classification, Type A.

Awww, poor Char Char.

A Type A. is a girl who meets a guy, and on their first date, starts talking about what kind of diamond she wants, or worse, baby names.  Type A. tells every one of her girlfriends that she has finally met the one with every new guy she meets, and begins her quest for a husband at 16 (or younger), but has the hardest time sealing the deal in a relationship.  Then, there are those girls who could care less about getting married…We’ll call this kind of girl Type B.  A Type B. is the girl who has a totally laid back approach on love.  She is in no hurry to be in a relationship, let alone marriage.  She dates to have fun, not to tie someone down.  Usually a Type B., will without really caring or trying, find ‘the one’ without much effort or heartache at all.  Everything will fall naturally into place, and there will usually not be much drama along the way.

So, this all had me wondering…Is it that laid back approach with Type B. that really hooks the guy?  And is it that eagerness in Type A. who makes the guy run for the hills?  Well, I really don’t know.  Although, I have found the kicker to be, (and btw, I have seen this happen many times), that you can take the same guy and put him with Type A. and he’ll say he is not ready to commit, and then you can take that same guy and put him with Type B., and suddenly he’ll be magically ready to commit, and proposing to her after six months of dating.  WTF?!  It’s like some cruel joke to Type A.  Take for instance, poor Jessica Simpson…

Classic Type A.: aka; The lovelorn type. I mean, look at how she is gazing at him. She soooo wants to have his babies. Don't front, Jess, you're very, very eager to get married.

Then there’s Cameron…

Type B: The easy-going laid back type. Cameron totally knows how to work that charm to snag a hubby (if she should decide she wants one...although, I don't think she has yet...)

By opening with such a statement you probably thought that I was now going to go into a whole shpeel about which type of girl I am, followed by everything I have learned about relationships and blah, blah, blah…

Well, I’m not, because you are getting a little bored, right?  I mean, I am kind of getting sick of hearing myself talk.

But I don’t want to leave you hanging, so if I must define myself as a Type A. or Type B.,  I would have to say I’m kind of in between-y. Maybe at points in my life I have been a little more of a Type A., and at other times maybe a little more of a Type B…

Either way, I am married now.  So, hooray!

P.S.  I literally have NO idea why any of these thoughts occurred to me today.

P.P.S.  Disclaimer:  Ain’t nothin’ wrong with either type. I am firm believer that everyone should be true to themselves, and their wants and needs.  So, whatever your type might be, go ahead and let your freak flag fly.

Here are some things that I have learned about love, though:

The way I see it, if you want the rainbow, you gotta put up with the rain. – Dolly Parton

I can live without money, but I cannot live without love. – Judy Garland

The greatest happiness of life is the conviction that we are loved; loved for ourselves, or rather, loved in spite of ourselves. -Victor Hugo

When love is not madness, it is not love. – Pedro Calderon de la Barca

Love is being stupid together. -Paul Valery

If I loved you less, I might be able to talk about it more. -Jane Austen

8 thoughts on “Of Marriage and Men…

  1. I love that Dolly Parton quote! I’ve never heard it before… That’s frame-worthy; I think I’ll put it up in my kitchen while I’m washing Ryan’s dishes again…

  2. Loved this post… Its true, we are a bit of both because most of use go through the eager phase and then slow down to ‘I don’t really care abt marriage now’. Its a great piece to read specially when I’m horribly being pressed for marriage. 🙂

Leave a Reply

