Today I realized that I’m not that cool…

Reasons why I came to this realization:

1.  I always hop on the bandwagon of trends a year or two after something is cool.  Okay, I have many examples…First of all:

a.) The Ray-Ban Wayfarer sunglasses.  So, remember when the classic black style came out like 2 or 3 years ago? At the time I was like, “Eh…Not that cute.”  Then, soon after they started making colored versions of the style, at which point, I was even less enthused…But then, like the very un-cool person I am, I discovered them on my own for the first time less than 4 months ago.  Now I have two pair, white and red, and I wear them like it’s my J-O-B.  All the while knowing they’re actually not hip to wear anymore, but that doesn’t stop this whirling dervish from losing any momentum whatsoever.  For reals.

Exhibit a.

Tooooootally feeling the red pair.

A repeat offender.

b.) Then there were Juicy Couture velour sweat suits.  I got my first one at least 6 years after they made a bang onto the scene, and probably around the time suburban mom’s in Long Island started wearing them.

    c.)  And I can’t forget about Uggs. <–Still wearin’ em.

   d.) Oh, and cell phones.  Had an ancient cell phone (ancient as in one step above that huge awkward cell-y Michael Douglas used in Wall Street circa 1987), until about 2 months ago…then, I got an iPhone (P.S. And it was a hand-me-down from my mother-in-law…it’s not even like I took steps to improve my own cell phone image.)

You remember this little gem, right?

   e.) I can’t forget about skinny jeans and flats. Discovered this combo by the time Old Navy was mass producing both.  (<–BTW, I’m not puttin’ down Old Navy…I think ON is the bomb.)

Other realizations...

2.  When I watched the video from my wedding, and realized I look like a humongous freak while dancing to rap music…Sooooooo awkward…The worst part is, I basically thought I was Beyonce.

3.  Yesterday I went back to school, and I was VERY excited about it…therefore I’m too school for cool.

4.  I watched the VMA’s and thought to myself, “What is this music that these kids listen to these days?”  and also, “Who ARE all these people???” <–But this might be due to the fact that I have lived in Grenada for the past 2 years…

And last but not least…

5.  I don’t care that I consistently have panty lines with leggings.  ‘Nuff said

20 thoughts on “Today I realized that I’m not that cool…

  1. I always have panty lines no matter what pants I’m wearing! It drives my husband crazy! I always tell him he can wear a thong and I’ll stay comfortable in my panty-line-showing underwear!

    • Hahaha! My friends have actually pointed it out to me on many occasions, but I don’t care! I love leggings, but I hate thongs, so what you get is leggings and panty lines! There ain’t no other way to go for me!

  2. Your blog is so funny! Please keep blogging. And, my first pair of skinny jeans just arrived today so I am far less cool but I also have big legs and have been praying for years for bootcut to come back.

    • I know how you feel, I have been praying for flares to come back…but they never do! It’s always skinny jeans…EVERYWHERE! Thank you so much for reading my blog, and I am flattered that you are entertained by all of my antics!:)

  3. Ha! Too school for cool. Haha, that made me chuckle.
    I’m with you on the VMAs though…..I heard the noms for best new artist and thought to myself, “Never heard of a single one…”

    • I totally wish I could take credit for the ‘too school for cool,’ but I heard it in a Pink song not too long ago, and I thought that was really cute. Haha, but I guess the fact that I kinda dig Pink is yet another reason I am not that cool…Ha!

  4. Ha Ha Ha!! I just bought some Oxford flats, people have been wearing them forever…. And I can’t let go of my Juicy Suits now that I am a SAHM {Stay at home Mom} And I my face is way too fat to wear the RB’s sunglasses but you pull them of very well and I am Jealous… Love your blog E-bff!!

    • Haha! I love those oxford flats, too! Wait, I thought of another thing…This December when Matt and I get back to NY, I am going to get a pair of Minnetonka boots…which were cool about 3 years ago! I can’t help it, I like them now. Hahaha. Oh, and btw I love the e-bff! Heehee!

  5. I still rock the Ray Bans. They’re all I wear. Yes, I did buy a white pair 3 years ago, HOWEVER, I am still rocking them and don’t think I’ll stop. And don’t get me started on aviators. The classics never get tired. And if they do, so what — you can reinvent the cycle. 🙂

    • I know, right!? I don’t wanna stop wearing them either. That’s actually a great point, they are classics, and therefore they’ll never go out of style. So, hooray! I’m never gonna stop!

    • Haha, it’s all true to, though Btw, I thought of one more reason after I posted this blog: I will get into a song/band/novel like a year after everybody else! Lame-O!

  6. This is me. I discover things rather late in the game. I try to go with it, though. I find sometimes that when I do get or wear whatever it is, that I find everyone else has gotten there too. We all discover it together. Really love your blog!

  7. Pingback: Good Ol’ Bev… | Sarah Smiles Awhile

Leave a Reply

