But trust me, on the sunscreen.

Does anybody remember this song?  Every few years I re-discover it, because it is so full of such great advice.

 

Wanna know a little background about this song?

Wear Sunscreen or the Sunscreen are the common names of an essay titled “Advice, like youth, probably just wasted on the young” written by Mary Schmich and published in the Chicago Tribune as a column in 1997, but often erroneously attributed to a commencement speech by author Kurt Vonnegut. Both its subject and tone are similar to the 1927 poem “Desiderata“. The most popular and well-known form of the essay is the successful music single “Everybody’s Free (To Wear Sunscreen)“, released in 1998, by Baz Luhrmann.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wear_Sunscreen

5 thoughts on “But trust me, on the sunscreen.

    • I agree. I put it up knowing that it seems cheesy at first, but if you listen to the words it really has such great advice My favorite part is: Sometimes you’re ahead. Sometimes you’re behind. The race is long, and in the end, it’s only with yourself.” Rings so true for me.

  1. Pingback: But trust me, on the sunscreen. (via Sarah Smiles Awhile) | you heard it in a spud shop

  2. I adore this, and it has recently made it’s way back to my rotation of music. I have been tempted to write/print out the words and carry them around in my purse. They just… make sense.

Leave a Reply

